McLaren Life banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,406 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Doing a preemptive ignition coil replacement on this mac. Gladly order 8 new Bosch ignition coils and this is what I get.:cry:

·
Registered
81 Posts
The problem is the spotty quality of many things made in China. I would certainly rather have a part that is made in Germany, Japan or the US than one made in China.

·
Registered
1,355 Posts
The problem is the spotty quality of many things made in China. I would certainly rather have a part that is made in Germany, Japan or the US than one made in China.
At this point, the problem seems to be your perception. Do you have any evidence that Bosch is not ensuring the quality of its parts made in China, to their design and specification?

·
Registered
81 Posts
Since I am a physician let me ask would you prefer an artificial heart made in the US or Germany or one made in China? :)

·
Super Moderator
“I’m a Tuner”
1,167 Posts
Since I am a physician let me ask would you prefer an artificial heart made in the US or Germany or one made in China? :)
I want all three!
The precision of a German made heart, made with pride in the USA, with a Chinese price!

·
Registered
1,355 Posts
My perception is my reality.
There is only one reality.
I hope that Bosch maintains the level of quality anywhere they produce but I stand by my prior statement that more often than not many of the things made in China are of poor quality.
In my experience, the issue is that almost all companies have cost-reduced the quality from their products. Buying a "reputable" brand often doesn't help. The cost-reduction / profit increase is achieved by both design changes, and manufacturing in cheaper countries. I think that the former is the bigger issue, and can create quality issues that are often blamed on the manufacturing country, e.g. specifying (cheaper) parts with less exacting specifications.

·
Registered
2,139 Posts