McLaren Life banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m a newbie on the site and purchased a 2014 12c spider great car !
I purchased a new carbon fiber air brake and want to replace it myself.
i saw a video of someone just pulling up on the air brake to take it off.
if I do this will it put it out of calibration or harm anything and after installation can I just push it back down
Thanks Robert

2012 MP4-12C 2018 720s
3,163 Posts
I’m a newbie on the site and purchased a 2014 12c spider great car !
I purchased a new carbon fiber air brake and want to replace it myself.
i saw a video of someone just pulling up on the air brake to take it off.
if I do this will it put it out of calibration or harm anything and after installation can I just push it back down
Thanks Robert
If you move it manually, it must go back in the EXACT same spot or you'll get a fault. Once it faults, you can't clear it yourself. My recommendation would be to leave it in the active position, with the right tools you can still take all the bolts out. There is 1 plug to disconnect so be aware of that. The brake light is held in with adhesive, so good luck getting that out without breaking it.

·
Registered
48 Posts
If you move it manually, it must go back in the EXACT same spot or you'll get a fault. Once it faults, you can't clear it yourself. My recommendation would be to leave it in the active position, with the right tools you can still take all the bolts out. There is 1 plug to disconnect so be aware of that. The brake light is held in with adhesive, so good luck getting that out without breaking it.