McLaren Life banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone experienced this or is something wrong here?

I had Michelin Sport cup 2s all around with a year on them and some track days. You could say they’re at the later half of their lives.

Swapped the rear for Toyo R888R (315/30R20) and the car is now swaying left and right violently at high speeds and even more so unfer high braking. Handling is also shit now and the rear feels like it takes 5 seconds to catch up whenever I turn. Is this all normal or am I doing something wrong here?

I’ve read that tires with less tread respond faster but I didn’t expect all this. Grip is noticeably better though so there’s that at least.

·
Registered
750 Posts
I've no experience with these tyres, but I would check the basics, e.g. that they're correctly mounted (they appear asymmetric, so need the outside facing out), have the correct pressures, and are flush with the hubs (no dirt) and the wheel bolts are correctly torqued.

With your description, I'd want it looked at before driving it any further.

·
Registered
156 Posts
Running two different types of tire is likely the problem. I have seen that in Corvettes when people put drag radials in the rear.

·
Registered
111 Posts
I have had this issue a few times, different front and rears on this sensitive of a car (or any super car) is going to make it feel very squirrelly.. I have never had success even putting different tires on back vs front.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
I have had this issue a few times, different front and rears on this sensitive of a car (or any super car) is going to make it feel very squirrelly.. I have never had success even putting different tires on back vs front.
It’s just that I saw many people running this setup on the 720S and was surprised no one even mentioned this issue because it pretty obvious (and dangerous).

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #14