McLaren Life banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks,
I am new to the exotic space and am contemplating a 570S. However, all i read about are horror stories about 3k oil changes, 2k batteries, this breaking, that breaking and everything is 5k+ to fix. The excuse of "this is what you can anticipate from these type of cars" sounds like an excuse for poor quality and craftsmanship.....

Is this typical? Do other exotics (Lambo, Ferrari, etc) have these SAME issues?

It's not a question of affordability, but of taking hard earned income and throwing it in a trashcan every 6-12 months. Am I misreading something here? Are these fixes/issues I seem to 'constantly' read about the norm or a 1 in 100 event?

Thanks for your input
ESR

·
Registered
628 Posts
It's a hand made supercar, not a cheap car mass-produced by robots. A new battery is not $2k, it's >$3k, >$4k if you update to the Gen 3, other supercars are similar although McLaren parts prices do seem to be particularly outrageously priced. There are plenty of people here who report many miles in the 570 series without any problems, I met a guy at the weekend who had 35k on his from new without any issues. Mine has had a few things over its life, a leaking strut, a battery, and a power steering pump, and there's currently a loose piece of trim by the mirror, that was in 12k over 3 years. None of these are to do with poor quality or craftsmanship, since they're all components produced by someone else (the battery might be an exception, and there's reason to think the Gen 3 has updated battery technology).

·
Registered
219 Posts