McLaren Life banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

I am new to this Mclaren life forum and was interested in possibly trying to get some information regarding the cooling system on the 720s. From everything that i have read there is the high temp circuit (Coolant for for engine/trans) & the low temp circuit (Intercoolers and Clutch). What I am in search for is the factory cooling system diagram if it is available, if anyone has any information regarding this please let me know. I am currently working on a friends 720s and installing a set of 3.5" uncatted downpipes which will be paired with a dyno spectrum tune. While replacing the downpipes we are also looking at possibly upgrading the intercoolers & possibly divorcing the coolant system so that the intercoolers are not subject to the know heat soak associated with tuning these. I'm not aware of anyone currently that has their systems divorced currently so if anyone has done it please chime in and explain what has worked for you. Look forward to hearing from you guys and any input you might have. Thanks in advance.

·
Vendor
395 Posts
Factory system is shared.
In order to divorce the system you will need a tank mounted in the front trunk with a pump in order to circulate the fluid. This tank will also be used as a fill point.
Hardest part will be running hoses from the front to the back.

·
Registered
431 Posts
couldn't the existing piping be used if separated from engine cooling system?
also wondering how much do the front radiators contribute to engine cooling ...

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5