McLaren Life banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,013 Posts
I love this car and thought it would be in the WEC this year? Anyone know why Mclaren aren't there? Would seem like a good place to showcase against Porsche, AM, Ferrari, etc.

·
Registered
8,123 Posts
I love this car and thought it would be in the WEC this year? Anyone know why Mclaren aren't there? Would seem like a good place to showcase against Porsche, AM, Ferrari, etc.
This is kind of the explanation...

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/103398

I am no expert but wec is gte which is well regulated. The Mclaren is gt3 and doesn't qualify for gte... Gt3 is 'regulated'through balance of performance requirements

The good news is that Mclaren will be going to Le Mans in 2015.

·
Registered
1,208 Posts
Not 2015, their GT/GT+ car will debut next year after the new regs are sorted out. As has been said, McLaren has only produced a GT3 spec car, not a GTE spec car and thus they cannot race in the WEC although the ELMS (which raced before the WEC race at Silverstone) has a GTC class that allows GT3 cars where 2 are entered by ART Grand Prix team.

There is however a GTE 12C in pieces sitting at the McLaren GT facility waiting to be assembled.....

·
Registered
8,123 Posts
Not 2015, their GT/GT+ car will debut next year after the new regs are sorted out. As has been said, McLaren has only produced a GT3 spec car, not a GTE spec car and thus they cannot race in the WEC although the ELMS (which raced before the WEC race at Silverstone) has a GTC class that allows GT3 cars where 2 are entered by ART Grand Prix team.

There is however a GTE 12C in pieces sitting at the McLaren GT facility waiting to be assembled.....
Thanks for clarifying Mitch...

Do you know if the new GT is being designed by mtc or at Mclaren GT?

·
Registered
1,208 Posts
McLaren GT afaik, MTC only does the road cars.

Also, should clarify what I said, 'Not 2015' as in they won't be racing in the 24 Hours of Le Mans next year.