McLaren Life banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
789 Posts
pretty crazy,, could have been another paul walker type of story.

Im always hesitant to do canyons with copilots or even be a copilot, never know whats going to happen.

·
Premium Member
378 Posts
Awesome first hand accident experience from an auto journalist! Thanks for sharing...

·
Registered
2,109 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
As an automotive journalist myself, it drives me nuts how many cars are crashed by the press during intro demos. Most of them never make it into the public eye. A man's gotta know his limits...
I wonder if the guy that crashed it was some kind of YouTuber from the UK or something

·
Registered
377 Posts
As an automotive journalist myself, it drives me nuts how many cars are crashed by the press during intro demos. Most of them never make it into the public eye. A man's gotta know his limits...
Road & Track reported that they excluded the 570S (?) from their Performance Car of the Year competition because...they crashed it.

The author was very lucky that the car tumbled and rolled rather than impacting a fixed object. Basic physics:
Average Impact Force = Kinetic Energy/distance. So tumbling and rolling 200 feet applies 1/50th the average force compared to a head-on impact that crushes the car by 4 feet.

·
Premium Member
704 Posts
Shoulda had Trofeos on it.
I added Trofeo’s to mine - but the level of friction that it adds probably still wouldn’t have saved them - the Corsa’s are 100 TW, the Corsa’s are 60TW, and even though they may have been driving quickly, I can guarantee they did not get them up to the >150F working temp they need to utilize their stickiness (Corsa or Trofeo alike). Remember, even the best tires in the world need a lot of heat in them to 100% adhesion which is nearly impossible to get to on the street.