McLaren Life banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
I am really happy to see a thread on Iris....I have been having some struggles with it myself (though I am relatively new to MP4).

On the subject of BT, when on the phone I hear people great but no one at the other end can understand me (horrible sound). I tried Jawbone and it just was not that great, I tried a set of phone ear and mic and that works great (as expected), but I just did not want to be tangled with the wires. So I decided to get creative. I thought perhaps the mic was not that good. I got a splitter for my phone. I connected one end to the Aux input and one to a mic. Then I tried it by making a call. I could hear people through the speakers and people could hear me from the "external" mic (and no wires, at least around my head!). The problem was that the sound was still not good enough for people. So I decided the problem was either the splitter or the mic (or perhaps closed loop feedback from the system)....I am waiting for a better quality splitter and I will test it and if people are interested I will be happy to report back.

BTW if you decide to use the phone ears and mic (which I will if my experiments don't work and if I don't blow up Iris in the process), and if you like streaming radio or listening to music from your phone (which I do with pandora, spotify etc.) then getting the splitter is a great idea. It works great , you can be listening to streaming radio and if you get a call and you answer it automatically switches to phone (vs streaming radio). BTW all of this is on my Android phone.