McLaren Life banner

Detailed Discussion of Service Due Indicator

7K views 9 replies 7 participants last post by  Ingenere 
#1 · (Edited)
I'm starting this thread to see of others can add to what I've been learning about McLaren's service interval timer.

I have some experience with dealership service technicians. Like everything else in life, some are really good and some really bad. When it comes to things like annual services, I normally like to get together with a trusted mechanic and work with them to do the service. Luckily, McLaren's service documentation is superb and the four year annual service on my 12C took a little less than a day. The last to do item on the extensive check list is to check the car's electrical system for stored faults and reset the service interval timer. I arranged a subscription to McLaren's diagnostic software and proceed to do just that.

McLaren is known for being precise and doing the exact task at hand. The online software is no exception. It is incredibly easy to download, install and run. It is equally easy to navigate to the correct car, module and routine. Regretfully, McLaren was forced to provide this access by the EPA and, in response, they have provided the very bare minimum necessary to meet the EPA mandate. You may re-flash vehicle modules with the latest firmware or you may re-marry a new module to the car. That is it. I've been unable to find any of the other functions routinely mentioned in the service documentation and am currently working with McLaren to see if I can subscribe to a more robust version of their MDS.