McLaren Life banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gents,

I'm a newbie here, very close to pulling the trigger on a 2012 12C coupe. There's an outside chance I may just buy another CGT. I had one and really enjoyed it, but regretted that the CGT is such a difficult car to use. The 12C seems almost practical by comparison, as outlandish as that sounds.

Anyhow, I noticed several members here have both. I'd love to hear their thoughts on the differences between the two.... what they like better, what they don't like, etc.

My other benchmark for the sake of comparison is that I had a Scuderia, which I thought was a fabulous car.

Any and all input appreciated. Best regards to all.

Rob

·
Registered
1,459 Posts
The 12C IS practicle. There is nothing "almost" about it. :)

You should at least see if you can go test one, or maybe go to a track event where some 12Cs are and ask the friendly owner (yes, we are all friendly!) for a passenger ride so you see what the car feels like.

·
Registered
367 Posts
The doors (entry/egress) are an issue, and if you are under 6 feet tall you may not notice. You need strong legs and a flexible spine. Well the start up is too quiet for some but undoubtedly too loud for any neighbors early in the morning. Easy to drag the nose even with lift option. But yes awesome "AND" car, practical, I use mine for a grocery getter, work, family events, everything.

To be honest nothing was ever close to as practical as my 997 turbo tiptronic, but that had drawbacks of course. I admit to being strongly anti-porsche after dealings with PCNA and some bad luck.

I thought a recent forum comparison of the CGT to a 911 GT3 was wildly contrived. Good to see the 12C is now in the running ;)

·
Premium Member
1,868 Posts
Gents,