Soft Close Door DIY - McLaren Life
 9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 19 Old 02-13-2019, 02:40 PM Thread Starter

Soft Close Door DIY

Hi Guys,

I am a new 12C owner, and I also have a 570s plus a bunch of Porsches. On the Porsches I have been doing my own work for 25 years, I am also a Porsche engine builder and have a machine shop. Lastly, I own a PIWIS which is like the McLaren diagnostic tool (dealer level access to the computers).

So I guess you could say I am handy.

Anyways, I am not seeing much in the way of DIY as far as soft close latches. I searched, but couldn't find much.

Anyone do this retrofit themselves?

Tips?

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 02-13-2019, 08:29 PM

I do recall a DIY thread on this with pictures.

It sounds like it'd be a piece of cake for you.
post #3 of 19 Old 02-13-2019, 09:14 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbeavers View Post
I do recall a DIY thread on this with pictures.

It sounds like it'd be a piece of cake for you.
Yes @Texzen posted
“Just finished my '12 left hand drive swipe door coupe soft door close install, dreaded this job for months based on reviews....Not near that bad.... I had the right side passenger door done in less than an hour.....left side about an hour and half. Both sides included a couple 5-10 minute breaks and 10 minutes of glue drying to put the covers back on. Plug and play. Highly recommended.......
The Process......
Passenger Side, first fold seat backs forward and move seats all the way forward and down....