Time for new tires - McLaren Life
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Unread 05-27-2019, 02:54 PM Thread Starter

Time for new tires

Well it took 4,000 miles, half of which were on the track, but I finally killed the OE PZeros on my 2018 570 GT (sport package). I know many people say negative things about them, but all in all I was pleased with them. Not super sticky but consistent and easy to read, I found them a good way to learn the limits of the car.
I have plenty of experience with the Michelin PSS, and they seem to be the "go to" tire of choice, but I am debating between the PSS and the PS4. Any feedback on both would be helpful.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Unread 05-27-2019, 09:59 PM
AWH

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gtracer37 View Post
Well it took 4,000 miles, half of which were on the track, but I finally killed the OE PZeros on my 2018 570 GT (sport package). I know many people say negative things about them, but all in all I was pleased with them. Not super sticky but consistent and easy to read, I found them a good way to learn the limits of the car.
I have plenty of experience with the Michelin PSS, and they seem to be the "go to" tire of choice, but I am debating between the PSS and the PS4. Any feedback on both would be helpful.

If you want to stay in the same class of tires as the PZero, the PS4S is your droid. Best in that class of tires. When they built it to supercede the PSS, they focused on improving wet performance...which is now spectacular, w/o hurting dry performance. Have a look at Tire Rack's comparo of PS4S vs Conti ECS vs Pirelli PZero here: https://www.tirerack.com/tires/tests...y.jsp?ttid=223

And here's some testing I did for GRM of PS4S versus Conti ECS on my 12C: https://grassrootsmotorsports.com/ar...laren-mp4-12c/

Note the PS4 is not the same as PS4S. PS4 is a Euro-only tire (and a few sizes here in North America). Not at the same level as the PS4S.