Questions for those that track - McLaren Life
 19Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 61 Old 08-31-2015, 01:45 PM Thread Starter

Questions for those that track

Hi all,

Took the car out to the track for the 1st time this weekend. Ran stock everything just to see what the car felt like (Pzeros, stock pads - iron rotors, stock alignment). This was at COTA.

I knew I'd be slower than my prepped R8V10 since I am just learning the car but was surprised at being over 10 seconds slower. When I did the track comparison between the R8 and 12C, I noted that I was WAY slower in the corners (for those that know COTA, esses and 13/14)

I am going to chalk that up to needing more grip via better tires since the throttle and brake application points seems to be about the same.

Where I was truly surprised was that in the back straight (160-165mph) the car felt extremely floaty in the front. In the R8 I'd get little nose-light as I am accelerating up to speed but it settles into a solid track to the braking zone. However the 12C felt very front light the entire run up to braking zone. Is this normal behavior at higher speeds? I kept wanting more aero up front to plant the nose some. Maybe better tires would help with stability? not sure.

Overall, there is so much capability in this car that once I learn the car some more it will easily pace my old R8 and then some but wanted to get some insight from those with more experience tracking the car on what to expect. Should I get Trofeo Rs and some carbotech brakes and call it a day?